Affiliate Disclosure: Some of the links below are affiliate links. Spirit Voyage may earn a small commission, at no additional cost to you, if you click through and make a purchase.

Human energy body, aura, chakra, energyIn the system of Kundalini yoga, the human being has 10 bodies not just 1.  Each body has its own attributes, and the 4th body is the neutral or meditative mind.

The neutral mind is one of three mental bodies, the others being the positive and negative minds.  Its attributes are compassion, service, and balance.

The neutral mind is like a scale.  It balances and weighs the information being offered to it by the positive mind (what could go right?) and the negative mind (what could go wrong?).  It rises above agenda and the details of the world to give a more neutral, yet compassionate determination of your best path.  Strong neutral minds can evaluate and determine the best course within 9 seconds.  A weak neutral mind means that you are at the mercy of the dueling positive and negative minds. You will be changeable, have trouble making up your mind, get involved in a mental war with yourself, and be at the mercy of a roller coaster of emotions.  The neutral mind slows that process down and allows you to come from an objective, compassionate, and devotional place.

One of the biggest gifts of the neutral mind is that it allows you to see everything that has happened to you (good or bad) in terms of blessings and gifts.  Obstacles become opportunities, and you can see the blessings in all.  If you are stuck in a place of grief and sadness with a “why me?” mentality, you could benefit from strengthening the 4th body.

People born in April or those born on the 4th, 13th or 22nd of the month would do well to establish a practice of meditation and develop the 4th Body.


How to Strengthen the 4th Body:


Establishing a regular practice of meditation is key.  Meditation trains the mind not to react wildly to stimuli.  This, in turn, allows you to approach things from a calmer perspective.  Any meditation will work for this, but So Darshan Chakra Kriya is a wonderful tool to clear out subconscious litter and train the 4th Body.



Any mantra that you repeat will stimulate the neutral mind, but if you are looking for one mantra in particular, try Guru Ram Das. The mantra “Guru Guru Wahe Guru Guru Ram Das Guru” builds the heart center and inspires a sense of peace, balance, and service.

One of the ways to translate this mantra is “Wisdom comes to the servant of the Infinite.”

Snatam Kaur’s 31 minute version of “Guru Ram Das” for meditation

Cross Crawl

Brain balancing exercises are helpful for building the 4th body.  Lie on your back and raise opposite hands and feet towards the ceiling.  Raise your left leg at the same time as your right arm and vice versa.


Volunteering and selflessly serving others boosts and strengthens the neutral mind.  Find a way to give back in your community and watch peace return to your heart.

Open the Heart

Bowing the head to the heart also helps strengthen the mind’s neutrality and peace.  Pet an animal, play in the grass, just do something to make yourself smile! Meditations and mantras to open the heart abound in my book Yoga and Mantras for a Whole Heart.


Contemplation on mandalas calms and soothes the mind.  It builds the focus of the 4th body.

Connect with Guru Ram Das

Guru Ram Das was the fourth Guru of the Sikhs, and he corresponds to the 4th body.  His life represents service and compassion.  During the evenings, he would anonymously serve pilgrims who came to see the Guru by serving them meals, massaging their feet, and offering himself in other ways.  Many pilgrims were very astonished in the morning when they came to the court of the Guru only to see it was the humble man who had served them the night before!  His loving, compassionate, and sweet energy can restore and rejuvenate your heart center (4th chakra) which is connected to the 4th body (Neutral Mind).

Related Posts