Screen Shot 2014-05-21 at 12.53.07 PM(Editor’s Note:  Are you interested in numerology, and yogic numerology in particular?  Does numerology fascinate you but you don’t understand how calculate your personal numerology chart?  Jiwan Shakti Kaur has done the research for you and presents a very clear view of yogic numerology basics.  Happy math-ing!)

Discovering A Relationship with Numbers

Many of us primarily experience ourselves through our mind, physical body, and spirit: those being the most obvious parts of our whole being. However, a human is made up of much more. We are rich, multifaceted beings comprised of many energetic building blocks. We each come with our own personal code that can help us unlock the mysteries deep within and transform them in to mastery. Through understanding our relationship with numbers, we can crack that code and use it to heal and balance ourselves.

Yogic Numerology is interpreted using the numbers 1 – 11. The numbers 1-10 correspond to one of our 10 bodies; 11 is the 11th embodiment or the place of mastery. The numbers 1 – 7 also correspond with our chakra system.  At first we may relate primarily with our physical body, mind, and spirit. However, there are many other aspects of ourselves waiting to share vital energetic information with us about how to be happy, healthy, and whole.

I like to relate the 10 bodies and 7 chakras to the strings of a musical instrument. Instruments can easily fall out of tune, even when sitting in a room without being touched. The effects of temperature change and relative humidity can cause the strings to expand or contract, slightly changing their pitch. In order to get the strings vibrating at the proper frequency, they need to be tightened or released by the musician.  By developing a relationship with yourself through the 10 bodies and 7 chakras you can start to notice where and when you need to tune yourself.  Next, you can combine this knowledge with your own personal numerology code to learn your strengths and weaknesses and why you may need tuning more often in one area than the other.



Let’s get started

Your personal numerology code consists of 5 different numbers that reside in their own unique position.  The numbers 1 – 11 can be in any one of these spots. In this practice, we do not condense down the numbers 10 or 11 by adding them together. 11 will stay as an 11 and 10 becomes 1+.  However, any numbers higher than 11 are added together to give you a single digit to work with. For instance 12 would be 3 (1 + 2 = 3).

I will use my birthday as an example: 5\17\1978


Karma Position (The month you were born) = 5

Soul Position (Day of birth 1+ 7) = 8

Gift (Last two digits of the year you were born 7 + 8 = 15 and 1 + 5 = 6) = 6

Destiny (The year of your birth 1 + 9 + 7 + 8 = 25 and 5 +2 = 7) = 7

Path (The sum of adding all of the digits of your birth date 5 + 1 + 7 + 1 + 9 + 7 + 8 =  38 and 3 + 8 = 11) = 11


Each number can manifest a positive and negative quality. Which qualities show up at what time depends on how well you are taking care of yourself and cleansing, balancing, and working on mastering your 10 bodies and 7 chakras.  The good news is that yoga, meditation, and pranayama (breath work) give you the means to keep yourself in balance and push through any negative reflections that come up.


Karma Number


This number reveals how you relate to the external world and to relationships with others. It is one of your challenge numbers and you may experience its negative aspects often. Through connecting with this number and understanding its attributes and those of the body it is associated with, you have the opportunity to transform your Karma into Dharma, creating harmony between your internal and external worlds.

Soul Number


This number reveals how you relate to yourself and to the God consciousness within you. It connects you to your soul, which is the deep spiritual and creative part of yourself.  Like your Karma Number, this position will reveal a weakness. When are you are able to consciously connect to your soul self, you will no longer feel any feelings of separation or alienation and will always feel at peace within yourself and your environment.

Gift Number


This number reveals a positive quality you have been given in this lifetime. It will support you in moving through the challenges presented by your Soul and Karma Numbers. The body and chakra associated with this number indicate natural talents that you can rely on to support you when under stress and pressure.  It’s important to strengthen and use your gifts as much as possible. The use it or lose it rule can apply here as the negative side of this number can overpower the positive when one is denying the gifts they are given and not using them.

Destiny Number


This number reveals what positive qualities you have been developing through many lifetimes and what talents you have access to in this lifetime. Connecting to your deep personal history and well-developed skills works to support you through the challenges and weak areas in your chart. When we are not using the talents we have mastered in many lifetimes, they can show up as the negative attributes of the body and chakra associated with the number in this position.  Through developing a relationship with this number, you are able to connect to your inner mastery and use it platform for balance and personal strength.

Path Number


This number represents what talents you need to master in this life in order to feel complete and fulfilled. It shows you what avenues to take so you can serve and teach others how to do the same.  When you have mastered the body and chakra associated with this number position, you are doing what you are supposed to be doing and loving it. You are inspiring others to be on the right path and feeling supported by the universe because you are fulfilling your own personal mission. Through understanding this number, you connect with own personal divinity.







Know your Numbers and your Resources


Once you have calculated your numbers and familiarized yourself with them, you can then meditate on how they relate to your current experience. You will start to notice where to make adjustments in yourself and your environment to experience more harmony and flow. Find a yoga set and meditation that will help you balance your 10 bodies and 7 chakras  as well as strengthen the ones in your natal chart.  If you are unsure where to get started, find a local teacher or practitioner in your area who can help you.







Related Posts