Happy Free Music Friday from Spirit Voyage and Mirabai Ceiba!

Click here to download “Ong Namo” from Mirabai Ceiba’s album Awakened Earth.

Markus and Angelika have done it again! With Awakened Earth, their music has flourished to brighter, broader and yet deeper places in the sacred music spectrum. Opening with the hauntingly beautiful sound of the duduk, the album continues on to astonish you with its rich layers of beauty. Angelika’s sweet, soaring voice glides in such simple and evocative harmony with Markus` gentle rich singing.

This is the second musical partnership with producer Jamshied Sharifi, and like the first, A Hundred Blessings, this album invites you to a magical exploration of the undiscovered worlds that music can lead you into. With amazing guest performances from Yoed Nir on cello, Anders Boström on flute, Roubik Aroutiounian on duduk, Megan Gould on violin and viola, the musicianship on this album is unparalleled. The intertwining of Markus’ guitar and Angelika’s harp carries their signature sound through this album, with Jamshied’s keyboards, accordion and bass creating rich textures throughout the music.

A gentle yet expansive spirit pervades all the music of Mirabai Ceiba. The delicate sounds of harp, piano, and guitar blend with lovingly intertwined voices amid lush celestial soundscapes. Their concerts are group celebrations for peace-joyous and loving occasions that embody the duo’s profound belief in music as a universal language uniting all the world’s peoples, cultures and traditions.

Mirabai Ceiba is a duo consisting of guitarist/singer Markus Sieber and singer/harpist/pianist Angelika Baumbach. They come from different parts of the world. Markus is East German. Angelika was born in Tucson, Arizona, and grew up in a small village near Mexico City, the daughter of a Mexican mother and German father.

Together, Angelika and Markus have forged engaging new style of world devotional music blending Gurmukhi mantras from the Kundalini Yoga tradition with original songs in English and Spanish that reflect a Native American influence and also draw words of wisdom from Rumi, Thich Nhat Hanh, Guru Nanak and Yogi Bhajan. Through exquisitely crafted recordings like their CD A Hundred Blessings, Mirabai Ceiba weave a beguiling tapestry from these diverse influence and sources. And that’s what the music feels like: a beneficent and abundant gift from the universe. In concert, they inspire all present to chant together in a spirit of compassionate love and Oneness.

Even the name Mirabai Ceiba embodies the influences of both India and Native Latin America. Mirabai (1498-1547) was a Hindu mystical singer. Her songs express the longing of the individual self to be one with the universal self, represented by Krishna. For Angelika and Markus, the name Mirabai “is the exploration, the devotion, the inspiration in all the different aspects of divinity.”
And the Ceiba is a sacred tree of Latin America which is never cut and grows very tall. “We wish our music could be like the Ceiba tree,” say Markus and Angelica, “with roots deep in Mother Earth and branches extending far and wide into Father Sky.”

Mirabai Ceiba is now preparing for their European tour!  Visit their website www.mirabaiceiba.com to learn more!

  • Madrid, Spain – Apr 27
  • Barcelona, Spain – Apr 28
  • Berlin, Germany – May 04
  • Warsaw, Poland – May 11 (info tba)
  • Dresden, Germany – May 13
  • Tallinn, Estonia – May 18
  • Moscow, Russia – May 19
  • Cologne, Germany – May 26
  • Rainbow Spirit, Munich, Germany – May 28
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands – Jun 02
  • Yoga and Music Festival, Oberlethe, Germany – Jun 03
  • Budapest, Hungary – Jun 09 (info tba)
  • Vienna, Austria – Jun 21 (info tba)
  • Seitenstetten, Austria – Jun 22 (info tba)
  • Darmstadt, Germany – Jun 28
  • Zurich, Switzerland – Jun 30
  • Freiburg, Germany – Jul 01

Related Posts