This upcoming weekend will be the Maha Shivratri, which is the celebration of the Hindu God, Shiva. On this day, devotees fast, practice meditation and yoga in reverence of Shiva. Shiva means, “auspicious one” and he is usually depicted in meditation with a third eye at the brow, crescent moon, snake coiled around his neck, while holding a trident and a drum.

Although Yogi Bhajan, the Master of Kundalini Yoga, was not a Hindu, but a Sikh; however, some of his classes would use elements of other spiritual teachings. When studying the teachings of Yogi Bhajan and those of Shaivism, one can find some similarities.

Shiva lived an ascetic life until he married and had children, becoming a householder. He represents the Destroyer and Deliverer aspect of Yogi Bhajan’s G.O.D. acronym, which also included the Generator (Brahma) and the Organizer (Vishnu). Yogi Bhajan said that Shiva is considered to be the Lord of Yoga and that he had to master every type of yoga before he was gifted with Kundalini Yoga.

The primary teaching in Shaivism is non-dualism. Non-dualism means that the Creator and creation didn’t separate (Karta Purkh) and as Yogi Bhajan would often say, “If you can’t see God in all, you can’t see God at all.”

The only objective of the yogi is to merge with the Infinite and be aware of all that separates themselves from that Infinity, so that is may be transformed. Shiva’s seat is at the Third Eye (also known as the Ajna Chakra and Pituitary), which is where we merge from. The Third Eye is where we see the unseen (intuition), self-initiate and project.

Yogi Bhajan has taught a few classes around the theme of Shiva. He also taught a series of classes in 2001 with the Lord Shiva’s mantra, Maha Mrityunjai. Yogi Bhajan said, “Through this mantra, man has learned to face death.”

Here are a few kriyas that Yogi Bhajan taught that have some elements of Shiva in them:

Tershula Kriya/ Thunderbolt of Shiva 

Shiva represents Tershula which is the past, present and future. It is said that one who believes they are the past, present and future; creates a place for God to come in. This meditation also helps with the self healing process and working with phobias.

Learn the Tershula Kriya

Music for the Tershula Kriya

Balance the Mind I & Balance the Mind II

These sets both use the Shiva Dance as part of the kriya. Dancing Shiva is also known as Nataranj. Dancing is a meditative state like other healing forms that releases, dissolves, restores flow, strengthens intuition and awakens creativity.  

Learn the kriya!

The music used….

Creative Meditation of the Sublime Self & For Wealth and Intuitive Opportunity

Both of these meditations are done with the mantra, Hariang. Yogi Bhajan said that, “Hariang means Shiva, destroyer of Evil.” 

Doei Shiva Kriya

Helps open up intuitive capacity (The Eye of Shiva).

Shiva-Shakti Pose Venus Kriya

Another Dancing Shiva kriya. This one is done with a partner. 


Here are also a few mantras that evoke or reference Shiva which you can find on Spirit Voyage:

Har Haray Haree Wahe Guru

Haree represents Shiva with Har being Brahma and Haray being Vishnu.

Wah Yantee

Shiva is referenced as part of the Hindu trinity that make up the one God.


Om Namah Shivaya



Related Posts