The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra seems to be the most talked about of all the chakras. Many yoga teachers will focus on kriyas and meditations with the aim to open students’ hearts. The goal with the heart chakra is to be open and allow life to flow. However that is much easier said than done.

First, a yogi must have the 1st, 2nd and 3rd chakras in balance in order to attempt to come from the heart. Without this lower triangle there is not a stable base for the heart to safely vibrate. For example, when the 3rd chakra is weak, one may manipulate and play games in order to gain love rather then feel worthy of it and allow it. The person is attempting to come from the heart, but there are blockages.

The heart chakra is also known as the Anahata which means in Sanskirt, “unstruck.” Unstruck defines unconditional love as it means without beginning and without end. You love yourself and others regardless of the “quirks.” Unstruck doesn’t mean clinging or possessive either. Unstruck is trust. There is no limit to love that is available to you, but for most there is a limit to the amount of love you are willing to receive and give. It is amazing to watch our attitudes around feeling worthy enough for love.

When the heart is weak, one will reject before they have the opportunity to be rejected. The doors to opportunities are shut in the name of safety and comfort. It is natural to come from this place if you have been hurt in the past. However if you don’t allow yourself to go through the pain and learn from the past, these hurts will go unresolved and they will replay themselves over and over again. Even worse, you may settle for comfortable or abusive relationships because that is what you feel that you deserve.

Love is a risk. One with a strong lower triangle will throw caution to the wind to fulfill their hearts desires.  The heart may want something, but your mind and people around you are telling you that you are crazy. Many things in life when seen in black and white may not make sense. The heart is the color. The heart wants what the heart wants and it doesn’t always feel comfortable, yet if you are not living from here, where are you living? Whose life are you living?

When the heart is weak a person develops grief. It is said to effect the heart and the lungs through years of neglecting the heart. In order to heal, one must first love and accept themselves before they can love others. Issues with truly loving yourself is really the core to loneliness, depression, fear of intimacy, clinginess, jealousy, etc.  Why feel lonely when God created you as a whole person? If we don’t deal with this issues internally, then we continue to attract the same situations into our lives over and over.

Guru Dev Singh, the Master of Sat Nam Rasayan taught an amazing meditation that works with the heart. It was originally taught by Yogi Bhajan, but it is currently not published. A few years ago, Guru Dev assigned this meditation to me and I practiced it for 90 days. It is one of the most powerful meditations I have found for the heart. It is like a resuscitator and brings life back to the heart. It will make you feel really good and help you speak and act from the heart. Guru Dev also said that the meditation is good for depression and it strengthens the electromagnetic field when it is weak. The heart is the largest contributor to the electromagnetic field and when it is weak a person will become depressed and prone to illness.

-Sit in Easy Pose with the elbows in the ribs. The palms are up and to the sides. This is the same posture held during the RA MA DA SA Healing meditation.
-Begin Spinal Flex; spine comes straight and chest comes out then chest comes in and the spine curves. Practice this at a rapid pace.
-Chant HAR when the chest comes out. You can practice this with the Tantric Har by Simran Kaur for rhythm.

-Continue for 11 minutes for 40-90 days.

Other great Kriyas to practice for the Heart Center are:
-Magnetic Field and Heart Helper (Sadhana Guidelines)

-Opportunity and Green Energy Set (Transitions to a Heart Centered World). This is a great manual overall for working with the Heart Chakra.

You can also purchase Dharampal Kaur’s Haree Har to go along with the meditation in this kriya.
-The Essence of the Self (Inner Workout Manual)
-Exercises for the Heart Center (Reaching Me in Me)

-Bridge Series/ Power to the Heart (Sexuality & Spirituality)

Here are some great asanas that work with the Heart Center”
-Ego Eradicator (balances the heart over the head)

Triangle Pose (builds commitment)
Plow Pose
To learn more about the effects of asanas, check out Shakti Parwa Kaur’s Kundalini Postures and Poetry.

Here are some great mantras to chant for the heart:
-Guru Singh Ong So Hung

-Mirabai Ceiba Guru Ram Das Chant

-Chatr Chatr Varti- Sat Kirin Kaur

-Narayan- Dev Suroop Kaur

-Mera Man Lochay- Sat Kartar (For healing the wounds of love)

I would also recommend Ramdesh Kaur’s book, Kundalini Transformation Kit: Yoga & Mantras for a Whole Heart to learn more about meditations and mantras for the heart.

Related Posts