Chakras Female SilhouetteContinuing our journey through the chakras or energetic centers of the body, let us remember that it is not the actual chakra that becomes blocked or unblocked, it is our awareness of the corresponding energy within us. Through the practice of Kundalini Yoga we can strengthen our consciousness which will help bring any chakra imbalances closer to an optimum state of operation. Taking a moment to read Kundalini Yoga and the Chakras: Muladhara – The Root Chakra will help solidify your foundational understanding of the chakra system.

The second chakra is called Svadhisthana which means one’s own dwelling place or sweetness. It is regarded as the basis of individual human existence, where our unconscious personality, previous experiences and mental impressions are stored. In Kundalini Yoga this chakra is viewed as a challenge since we find it hard to break through our unconscious blocks (karmas). Through this chakra we connect to the water element and the aspects of flow, change, sexuality and creation. Kundalini Yoga teaches us that this energetic center is connected to the sacrum (lower back), bladder, kidneys, and the reproductive glands and organs. We can see the themes of water and creativity through these bodily representations.

Emotionally, if we are disconnected from our second chakra, we may experience things like jealousy, guilt, possessiveness, and have shallow relationships. We might feel shame of our body or sexuality, experience self-rejection or go to the other extreme of exhibitionism. The teachings of Kundalini Yoga express that these shadow emotions of the second chakra all stem from a lack of self-respect which is merely a disconnect of our consciousness from our soul’s sweetness. Luckily, maintaining a strong connection to this chakra is simple with Kundalini Yoga. With practice we can easily reconnect and manifest things like empathy, generosity and flexibility. Having passion for life, genuine intimacy and empowering relationships are all signs of a deep connection to the flow of Svadhisthana energy.

Yogi Bhajan shared many Kundalini Yoga kriyas, meditations, mantras and asana (poses) to assist us in strengthening our relationship with the second chakra. In this strength we can connect deeply to our creative power, write our own destiny and design the lives that we truly want.

“Toning The Kidneys” from Owner’s Manual for the Human Body can do wonders for moving and cleansing these watery organs.

Owner’s Manual for the Human Body

“Kriya For Pelvic Balance” from The Kundalini Yoga Experience is a challenging kriya that brings strength and balance to the physical region of the pelvis while helping to increase energy and reproductive potency.

The Kundalini Yoga Experience

“A Renewed Self-Concept” from Rebirthing will guide us away from the place of little self-respect and back toward our own light. It creates a space for us to let go of our attachments and resentments so we can fully be the amazing creators that we are and in touch with our second chakra. This kriya uses the Kundalini Yoga mantra “Har Haray Hari Wahe Guru” which is the expression of the three qualities of Creative Infinity. This mantra can bring you through any block in life and open up your creative flow. For a simple uplifting version of this mantra try Tantric Har and Har Haray Hari by Simran Kaur Khalsa and Hari Bhajan. Shakta Kaur Khalsa has a sweet version on Deeply Relax and Meditate.

Rebirthing – Breath, Vitality, and Strength

Tantric Har & Har Haray Haree Wahe Guru

Deeply Relax and Meditate

For a second chakra boost in just a few minutes, try these Kundalini Yoga postures:

Cat-Cow: Come onto the hands and knees with a straight, flat spine. On the inhale, begin to lift the tail bone then arch the belly toward the earth and finally lift the chin. This is cow posture and it looks as if someone is gently sitting on the center of your back. On the exhale, begin to tuck the tailbone then arch the back up to the sky and finally bring the chin to the chest. This is cat posture. Continue moving between these two poses with the breath. The key is to move the spine like a wave by starting at the tailbone and allowing the rest of the spine to follow in a fluid motion. This will bring great movement into the pelvis as you tilt the pelvic bone forward and back during the postures.

Maha Mudra: Begin by sitting up with both legs stretched out. Bring the left heel into the perineum. So you will be sitting right on the left heel and it will apply pressure between the anus and sex organs. This is very healing! Keeping the spine straight and a light tuck of the chin, fold forward over the extended right leg reaching to grab the right foot with both hands. Keep a lengthening motion through the spine and a lift in the navel while the eyes gaze at the right big toe. Breath long and deep.

Simple lifestyle suggestions to help balance a connection with the second chakra are: Get in some flowing water, preferably an ocean or river; drink plenty of water throughout the day; find an enjoyable outlet to express your creativity (cooking, drawing, singing, dancing, building, designing, writing, etc…); eat foods that are full of flavors; or wear orange and orange stones like Garnet. The key is really to enjoy your life and share this joy with others in genuine ways!

Related Posts