(Editor’s Note: This series is dedicated to sharing the knowledge contained in “The Aquarian Teacher”, the teacher training manual shared by all students of the KRI certified Kundalini yoga teacher training program.  You can discover the wisdom in greater depth by taking the Yoga Teacher Training course.  We recommend the training offered by Golden Bridge Yoga held in Rishikesh, India.)

“The Age of Aquarius is coming our way.  Emptiness, insanity and pain shall be everybody’s affair.  People will like to hit walls to find out where they can go.  They shall come to you.  As insane as they are, if you do not take away their pain, and instead you sit in judgement, you are wrong people.  That’s why we wanted to teach you how to remain disciplined in the most undisciplined world.” ~Yogi Bhajan

Why is the Aquarian Age such a big deal in Kundalini yoga?

Traditionally, Kundalini yoga was a very secret yoga, passed down from initiate to initiate.  Yogi Bhajan, armed with the foresight into the Age of Aquarius, felt people should have the tools to keep themselves healthy, happy, and holy during these challenging times, and in turn uplift and serve others.  Yogi Bhajan broke the chain of secrecy and shared this powerful technology with the West precisely because of the Aquarian Age.  Kundalini yoga is a life-raft through challenging times.

What is the shift of an age?

It is where one paradigm moves into another.  It is a transition between thought processes.  In the Piscean age, machines and hierarchies dominated.  During the Aquarian Age, information, awareness, and energy rule the day.  During Piscean times, getting to knowledge was part of the challenge.  You might have to trek to get to a remote temple in Tibet to find out an ancient process for living.  Now in Aquarian times, information is but a click away on the internet.  Secrets are nearly impossible to keep.  As a result we must step into full awareness, raise our internal caliber, and live lives we are prepared for the whole world to see.

What are the changes we can expect?

We are already seeing them.  Social networking makes your private life public, and websites like Wikileaks share the secrets of governments.  Environmental challenges like earthquakes, floods, fires, and hurricanes appear in greater frequency as we undergo quick changes in climate, along with quick changes in consciousness. New diseases are emerging, creating new challenges for our immune systems, and a higher level of toxins are appearing in our environments and food sources.  Depression and fatigue accompany the changing world (these two conditions now account for 25% of visits to doctors).

People will attempt to counteract their fatigue and sense of alienation by turning to electronic technology (social media and gaming sites).  This will increase the demands on our nervous systems.

To handle all this new information and new energy, we must grow our inner education.  We need stamina, strong nerves, the ability to clean our body of toxins, and wisdom to apply our intelligence.

Yogi Bhajan’s Sutras (Teachings) on the Aquarian Age

1. Recognize that the Other Person is You

2. There is a way through every block.

3. When the time is on you, start, and the pressure will be off.

4. Understand through compassion or you will misunderstand the times.

5. Vibrate the Cosmos, the Cosmos shall clear the way.

When did the Piscean Age start?

There has been a cusp period.  The cusp of the Age of Aquarius began on November 11, 1991.  It is believed that the influence of the Age of Pisces began to wane at this time, reaching the point on November 11, 2011 where the Age of Aquarius began.  We will experience a cusp period until the end of 2012.

What We’re Leaving Behind

In the Piscean Age, women were ripped from their roots.  Women were exploited and sexually dominated.  This lack of equality resulted in men and women not forming full partnerships, and the balance of the masculine and the feminine energies being imbalanced.  This resulted in things like religions not remaining balanced, where spirituality quickly became fanaticism, as in the Crusades.  The Aquarian Age is a return to honoring the Divine Feminine.  Women will come to remember their grace, divinity, and strength.

We are also leaving behind a sense of God outside of us.  This duality will not work anymore.  We will come to know in the Aquarian Age that the Divine dwells within us and within all things.

How to Live in the Aquarian Age

Instead of “to be or not to be”, the question becomes “I am, I am”.  You have the ability to recognize yourself as a pranic body in a container of molecules. You are the breath of life.  Stop your endless searching and begin the work of practicing.

In the Aquarian Age, it is important to develop the Self-Sensory System.  Kundalini yoga is a technology of developing this.  The Self-Sensory System is a guidance system that will steer you through life and into the right channels.  You will be the master of your own self, your psyche, and your body.  Using your Self-Sensory System, your creativity explodes.  You will have an abundance of energy and will be able to serve others.  We will evolve into a new humanity.

Yogi Bhajan’s 7 Steps to Happiness

1. Commitment

2. Character

3. Dignity

4. Divinity

5. Grace

6. Power to Sacrifice

7. Happiness

Teacher’s Tip:

In the Aquarian Age, for me personally, I need to find the way to make my mind relax and return to a Neutral State.  I find my mind flooded with so much information I can literally feel it buzzing.  The Waheguru Meditation below, as taught by Yogi Bhajan, gets to to the still point very quickly.  I don’t always have hours on end to meditate, but I do have 11 minutes to set my nervous system and refresh myself.  This meditation is easy, simple, and a very important tool to have during the Aquarian Age.

Related Posts